Powered land · Southwark, England
80 ha brownfield site at 25, Denmark Hill, SE5 8RT, Southwark
A brownfield site of 79.8 ha in Southwark, England, on the brownfield land register as previously developed land. It lies 0.67 km from the Bengeworth Rd Grid 33kV substation (UK Power Networks, London licence area), which has 40.5 MVA of demand headroom and 143 MVA for generation.
Owner, grid capacity and planning status on request.We do not publish owners. Ask us and we look up the registered owner of this site at HM Land Registry, the headroom and connection queue at the nearest substation and its planning history, and find out whether the site is available.
Looking for more sites like this one? A powered-land shortlist picks about 20 sites for your brief in a region you name, with grid capacity, zoning, permits and owners, in 5 working days. See a sample.
Facts
Every value links to its source. Licences and last-checked dates are per row.
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Area | 79.8 ha (the area its register gives) | Rare Context powered-land sites · ODbL 1.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Site from | Brownfield land register (England) | Rare Context powered-land sites · ODbL 1.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Owner type | Not stated | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Address | 25,Denmark Hill,SE5 8RT | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Status | Unknown (not stated) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Register reference | 18-AP-1713 (planning authority London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Register entry | Brownfield site: 25,Denmark Hill,SE5 8RT | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Conservation area | Camberwell Grove (20.9% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark; since 24 Jun 1970) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Conservation area | Camberwell Green (11.2% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark; since 10 Feb 1981) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Conservation area | Camberwell New Road (4.7% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark; since 27 Sept 1968) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Camberwell District Town Centre (27.9% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Camberwell District Town Centre (27.9% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP36: Denmark Hill Campus East (6.3% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP36: Denmark Hill Campus East (6.3% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Protected shopping frontage SF3: Camberwell (2.7% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP28: Camberwell Bus Garage (2.2% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP28: Camberwell Bus Garage (2.2% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP24: Camberwell Station Site allocation NSP24 (2.1% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP24: Camberwell Station Site allocation NSP24 (2.1% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP26: Butterfly Walk & Morrisons Car Park (1.7% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP26: Butterfly Walk & Morrisons Car Park (1.7% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Railway Arches (1.5% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Railway Arches (1.5% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP29: Abellio Walworth Depot (1.4% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Site allocation NSP29: Abellio Walworth Depot (1.4% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Article 4 direction | Protected shopping frontage SF28: Camberwell (1% of the site, estimated from the register's point and area; London Borough of Southwark) | planning.data.gov.uk · record · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Not designated | ancient woodland, green belt, National Landscape (AONB), national park, Ramsar wetland, registered park and garden, scheduled monument, Special Area of Conservation (Natura 2000), Special Protection Area (Natura 2000), Site of Special Scientific Interest, World Heritage Site buffer zone and World Heritage Site (checked against the published areas) | planning.data.gov.uk · Open Government Licence v3.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Location | Southwark, England | Rare Context powered-land sites · ODbL 1.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Coordinates | 51.4727, -0.0928 (the register's point for the site) | Rare Context powered-land sites · ODbL 1.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Nearest substation | Bengeworth Rd Grid 33kV (0.67 km, register point to the substation's mapped point) | Rare Context powered-land sites · ODbL 1.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Substation voltage | 33 kV | UK Power Networks open data portal · CC BY 4.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Substation operator | London Power Networks plc (UK Power Networks, London licence area) | UK Power Networks open data portal · CC BY 4.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Demand headroom at the substation | 40.5 MVA | UK Power Networks open data portal · CC BY 4.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Generation headroom at the substation | 143 MVA | UK Power Networks open data portal · CC BY 4.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
| Water stress | High (40–80%) (score 3.4 of 5, withdrawals 52.2% of renewable supply) | WRI Aqueduct 4.0 · CC BY 4.0 · checked 25 Oct 2026 |
The register gives a point and an area, not an outline: the distance runs from that point, so the site's edge can be closer to the substation.
How it compares
#1 of 60 sites in Southwark and #39 of 8,607 in the United Kingdom by site score. Larger than 98% of the sites in Southwark. Closer to its substation than 48% of them.
| Part | This site | Points | Of |
|---|---|---|---|
| Area | 79.8 ha | 22.4 | 30 |
| Distance to the substation | 0.67 km | 20 | 30 |
| Demand headroom at the substation | 40.5 MVA | 40 | 40 |
| Site score | 82 | 100 |
How the site score works in the United Kingdom · Search sites in Southwark
Nearby sites on the same substation
3 other sites have Bengeworth Rd Grid 33kV as nearest substation and would compete for its capacity.
- 1.38 ha brownfield site at Butterfly Walk, Morrisons Car Park and Police Station, Southwark0.73 km · score 59
- 1.71 ha brownfield site at Camberwell Bus Garage, Southwark0.79 km · score 58
- 1.13 ha brownfield site at Abellio Bus Garage, Southwark0.94 km · score 56
- Sites in Southwark60
- Sites in the United Kingdom8,730
- Bengeworth Rd Grid 33kVsubstation
Data on this page
- Supported by National Energy SO Open Data. NESO GIS boundaries for GB DNO licence areas, NESO Open Data Licence.
- Source: Office for National Statistics licensed under the Open Government Licence v.3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026. ONS Open Geography: Local Authority Districts, Open Government Licence v3.0.
- Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. planning.data.gov.uk, Open Government Licence v3.0.
- Rare Context. Rare Context powered-land sites, ODbL 1.0.
- UK Power Networks. UK Power Networks open data portal, CC BY 4.0.
- Kuzma, S., M.F.P. Bierkens, S. Lakshman, T. Luo, L. Saccoccia, E. H. Sutanudjaja, and R. Van Beek. 2023. Aqueduct 4.0: Updated Decision-Relevant Global Water Risk Indicators. Technical Note. Washington, DC: World Resources Institute. doi.org/10.46830/writn.23.00061. WRI Aqueduct 4.0, CC BY 4.0.